How to Disable Facebook Facial Recognition

Facebook recently released a new feature that will automatically recognize your face in pictures uploaded to Facebook. The feature uses facial recognition to scan images and then suggests that

Facebook recently released a new feature that will automatically recognize your face in pictures uploaded to Facebook. The feature uses facial recognition to scan images and then suggests that your friends tag you in the picture(s). The feature is fully functional for Australian users and the privacy setting has already been implemented for U.S. users.

Whats the scariest thing about it? By default the feature is turned on. That means you have to actively and manually turn the feature off.

If you haven’t realized the creepiness of the Facebook facial recognition system yet, check out the PCWorld Article explaining the new feature.

Heres how to turn off Facebook Facial Recognition:

    1. Navigate to your privacy settings within Facebook:
    1. Click on “Customize settings“:
    1. Navigate to the “Things others share” section and next to the “Suggest photos of me to friends” section click “Edit Settings“:
    1. In the “Photos: suggest tags” pop up window, click on the drop down menu, select “disabled” and click “Okay“:

You have successfully disabled Facebook facial recognition for you account!

Anson Alexander

Anson Alexander is a blogger, author, SEO expert, teacher, and tech geek. As the founder of AnsonAlex.com, Anson works full time writing, editing, and producing content for his site and providing technical and business services to clients. He has a BS in international business and information systems from the University of Tampa. In his free time, Anson plays video games, enjoys nature, spends time at the beach, and loves to travel.

View all posts