How to Clear Your Cache, Saved Passwords and Other Private Data in Google Chrome for Mac

Google Chrome 10

Google recently released a new version of Google Chrome: Version 10.0.648.151

In Google Chrome, browser preferences are accessed by clicking on the wrench icon at the top right of the screen and then clicking on preferences:

This will open up a new tab and you will be at the Google Chrome preferences screen. From here click on “Under the Hood” on the left side of the screen:

Under The Hood

Once in the “Under the Hood” section click on “Clear Browsing Data…”:

Clear Browsing Data

Now you have some options on what data you would like to clear and for what time frame you would like that data cleared out for. See the image below and the descriptions of the different types of private information that can be cleared out:

Clear Private Data Options


Descriptions of the Different Types of Private Data:

Browsing History:

Most internet browsers remember what websites you have visited so that when you go to type the site into your address bar again the browser will remember the address and auto-complete entering it for you. By checking this option you will clear out your browser’s memory of the web addresses you have visited.

Download History:

Google Chrome keeps a record of all the files that you have downloaded. By checking this option you will clear out the memory of those files and nobody will be able to view what you have downloaded in Google Chrome.

Cache

: A browsers cache is basically a folder that holds snapshots of all the websites you’ve visited. A cache is useful for when you re-visit a site that takes long to load. Because there is a local image of the site on your computer it loads a lot faster than if you were visiting the site for the first time. Many common website related errors are solved by clearing your browsers cached files.

Cookies:

An HTTP Cookie is a text file that is stored on your local computer containing specific information about your browsing preferences on a certain site. It may contain authentication information, shopping information or other information relating to the user’s experience on a particular website.

Saved Passwords:

This one is pretty self-explanatory. If you choose this option then all of the passwords you have saved in your browser will be cleared out. If a particular website is not offering to save your password then at some point you probably selected the option: “never save my password for this site”. By clearing out your stored passwords, you will be presented with the option of storing your password next time you access the site.

Autofill form data:

This option clears out saved form data. If you have made an online purchase before then Google Chrome probably saved your shipping address information so that next time you make a purchase that information can be automatically entered without having to do it manually.

Anson Alexander

About Anson Alexander

Anson has been publishing to AnsonAlex.com since early 2011 and has recently opened an AnsonAlex.com headquarters office to focus on the brand full time.

Anson specializes in providing software and technology tutorials in both print and video format. With hundreds of tutorials published on AnsonAlex.com, Anson has also authored and recorded 7+ courses for Lynda.com as well as other media companies.

Anson has a degree in International Business and Information Systems from the University of Tampa and also enjoys enjoys traveling and gaming.

Please send business inquires to [email protected]

Also connect with Anson on Google+.

Weekly Email Updates

Archive


AnsonAlex.com 2011-2016 All Rights Reserved. [How to Clear Your Cache, Saved Passwords and Other Private Data in Google Chrome for Mac]